Chicken Biryani and childhood memories part 1


An engineer friend named Sam* working in Saudi Arabia posted a picture of a dish in his facebook account sometime January 2011. He commented on the picture “chicken biryani” Another childhood social network friend and like a sister to me whose name is Liza* added her comment ” Naku naman!, namiss ko yan, kafatid. sarap niyan habang nilalafangga mo yang mga hilaw na sibuyas. sarap.  (Oh! my, I missed that brother. That is delicious while you have a mouthful with raw onions. Delicious.)”

Sam commented “mismo kfatid…..bigla ko ngang nalimutan ang spelling ng DIET…hahaha” (Exactly sister…. suddenly I forgot to spell DIET….hahaha.)

Liza, who now resides in Texas,  lived more than 10 years across the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and neighboring countries.  Her family is constantly travelling because of her husband’s job as an engineer with expertise on turbines.

I was intrigued and became interested in finding out more about chicken biryani from that time on and began my research about the dish.  I went to you tube and voila, I got to watch the chicken biryani with the most number of hits by Vah Chef with 1,326,446 views.

Vah chef said Chicken Biryani Indianfood the most popular Indian rice dish. I watched the video several times. I borrowed my son Derek’s headset because I want to hear it in private. Derek noticed my interest. The following day 17th February, the big day for much awaited chicken biryani came.

Do you want to know what happened next? Look for my next blog…you  will be surprised.

*not their real name

About Maria Arlene V. Goyenechea

mother of four, married, female, Filipina, fascinated with Japanese culture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

